Easily obtain ISO 45001:2018 occupational health and safety (OH&S) management system


Fast-track your certification process.


Help you stay in compliance.


Keep you informed of any changes in the law.


A dedicated Certification specialist.

Request a consultation

What is ISO 45001:2018 Occupational health and safety Management?

ISO 45001:2018(OH&S) is an international system specification that sets out the minimum requirements for ISO 45001:2018 best practices. It helps your organization systematically minimize the risk of accidents and work-related illnesses.
The Management of ISO 45001:2018 risks is a minimum requirement in every workplace. Effective implementation of ISO 45001:2018 system can assist organizations in economic growth, provision of a safe and healthy work environment and exhibit social welfare and commitment, thus setting the path towards sustainable development.

What are the key principles of quality management outlined in ISO 45001:2018 Occupational health and safety Management?

The key principles of quality management outlined in ISO 45001:2018 Occupational Health and Safety Management include:

  • Leadership and commitment: Top management's active involvement and commitment to ensuring a safe and healthy work environment.
  • Worker involvement: Engaging workers at all levels in the identification and control of occupational health and safety hazards.
  • Risk-based approach: Assessing risks and opportunities related to occupational health and safety to determine appropriate controls and preventive measures.
  • Continual improvement: Establishing processes for ongoing review and improvement of the occupational health and safety management system.
  • Legal compliance: Ensuring compliance with applicable legal and regulatory requirements related to occupational health and safety.
  • Hazard identification and control: Systematically identifying hazards, assessing risks, and implementing controls to eliminate or minimize workplace risks.
  • Communication and consultation: Establishing effective communication channels and consulting with workers and other relevant stakeholders on occupational health and safety matters.
  • Competence and training: Ensuring that workers have the necessary competence and training to perform their tasks safely and effectively.
  • Emergency preparedness and response: Developing and implementing plans and procedures to respond to emergencies and mitigate their impact on worker safety and health.
  • Documentation and record-keeping: Maintaining accurate documentation and records of occupational health and safety activities, including incidents, risk assessments, and training records.

What are the key requirements for obtaining ISO 45001:2018 Occupational health and safety Management?

ISO 45001:2018 outlines a framework for organizations to implement an Occupational Health and Safety (OH&S) Management System. To achieve certification, there are several key requirements:

  • Context of the Organization: You'll need to identify relevant internal and external factors that influence your OH&S performance. This includes understanding your industry's risks, legal requirements, and employee needs.
  • Leadership and Commitment: Top management must demonstrate a strong commitment to OH&S by establishing a safety policy, assigning roles and responsibilities, and providing resources.
  • OH&S Policy: A formal policy needs to be established that outlines your organization's commitment to worker safety and continual improvement.
  • Risk Assessment and Mitigation: Proactive identification of hazards and potential risks in the workplace is crucial. You'll need a plan to eliminate or control these risks.
  • OH&S Objectives and Planning: Setting measurable objectives for improving OH&S performance is essential. This includes planning how you'll achieve these objectives.
  • Support: Resources like training, communication, and consultation with employees are necessary to ensure everyone understands and participates in the OH&S system.
  • Operation: The actual implementation of your OH&S controls needs to be documented and followed. This includes procedures for safe work practices, handling emergencies, and managing nonconformities (deviations from the plan).
  • Performance Evaluation: Regular monitoring and measurement of your OH&S performance is required. This allows you to identify areas for improvement and demonstrate the effectiveness of your system.
  • Improvement: A continual improvement process is a core principle. Regularly review your OH&S system, analyze data, and make adjustments to enhance safety and prevent incidents.
  • Audit: Internal audits help identify areas for improvement, while external audits by a certification body assess if your system meets ISO 45001 requirements.

Why choose the ISO 45001:2018 certification?

ISO 45001:2018 certification helps organizations manage occupational health and safety risks effectively. Certification by an independent body demonstrates commitment to implementing, maintaining, and improving health and safety systems. Registered organizations can confidently meet legal requirements, achieve continual improvement, and benefit from:

  • Accident and interruption reduction through enhanced hazard control.
  • Enhanced focus on employee safety.
  • Simplified legal compliance.
  • Improved company image and global competitiveness.
  • Demonstration of innovation and forward-thinking.

More Specific Benefits:

  • Globally recognized standard.
  • Increased employee safety awareness and motivation.
  • Fulfillment of statutory health and safety requirements.
  • Reduction in accidents and production disruptions.
  • Enhanced reputation as a safe and reliable business.

What are the stages involved in the ISO 45001:2018 certification process?

The ISO 45001:2018 certification process typically involves several stages:

1. Application Review & Contract:

You'll select a certification body accredited to issue ISO 45001 certifications.
Submit an application and sign a contract outlining the certification process and fees.

2. Initial Certification Audit (Two Stages):

Stage 1 Audit (Documentation Review): The certification body will review your existing OH&S documentation, policies, and procedures to assess if they align with ISO 45001 requirements. This helps identify any gaps that need to be addressed before a full on-site audit.
Stage 2 Audit (On-Site Audit): Auditors will visit your workplace to observe your OH&S system in action. They'll interview employees, examine practices, and assess if your system is effectively implemented and meets the standard's requirements.

3. Certification Decision:

Following the audit, the certification body will review the findings and issue a decision.
If they find minor nonconformities (areas not meeting the standard), you'll be given time to address them before certification.
Major nonconformities will require corrective actions and a follow-up audit.

4. Continual Assessment (Surveillance Audits):

Once certified, you'll undergo regular surveillance audits (usually annually or every three years) to ensure your OH&S system is maintained and continually improved.

5. Renewal Audit:

After three years, a comprehensive renewal audit is conducted to reassess your entire OH&S system for continued certification.

ISO 45001:2018 Certification FAQs by Legal Babu - Your ISO Certification Consultants

Request a consultation

Let’s Stay in Touch

Thank you for subscribing to our newsletter

Warning: Module "memcached" is already loaded in Unknown on line 0